Gathering my thoughts, or trying…

Our family is changing. Not in the way that probably came to mind, Irish and I arent ready to add to our brood just yet. In fact the opposite of an addition is happening. My big boy, though hes only nearly 5, is moving away with his dad, The Creative Rebel, to Bali. They’re leaving on Tuesday. I havent really been able to gather my thoughts on how I feel about the future for Dude and I, his leaving and our being apart for an unknown amount of time. The possibility that he may not want to come back to be a permanent part of our family. But I have to let him go. I cant be the one to chain him down. Obviously he’s just a kid, but his dad is a good man and father and I trust him with the body, mind and soul of my boy.

Ive obviously known its been coming for a while, but the closer it comes the more it hits home. Like this morning, Tiny Dancer woke up and crawled over to Dude’s bed (at the foot of ours, we all sleep together in our “family bedroom”) and Irish and I didnt stop her, like we usually do because she’ll wake him up and he’ll get cranky πŸ˜› But he’s having his last sleepover at the Grandies so his bed is empty. She’s going to miss him. They’re going to be trouble together when they’re older, I suspect, probably like Irish and his younger sister were as kids… πŸ˜‰ And I have to be optimistic that those times will eventuate, for the sake of TIny Dancer and the rest of us.

We’ve got some huge changes ahead of us (the three left “behind”) as well; really, really exciting news that im DYING to share but must be patient with πŸ˜‰ But I know our family will probably be in a constant state of flux, basically for the rest of our lives, as far as “how it looks” and who belongs to it. Im ok with that.

Just a few random thoughts on a Saturday morning!
Xx

Posted on October 12, 2014, in family life, unschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ❀
    What an adventure! Much love to you as you let him go.

Leave a comment